2018 Primary Candidates

The following is a list of known Democratic candidates and incumbents who’ve declared their intent to run in the the May 22, 2018 primary election. This list will be updated with new declared candidates and ballot questions as they are announced.

All willing candidates had to file between March 5, 2018 at 9:00am and March 9, 2018 at 12:00 noon to appear the Democratic primary ballot. Voter registration for the primary ends on April 24, 2018. The nominated candidates will appear on the general election ballot on November 6, 2018.

Statewide Executive


Stacey Abrams
~ State House Minority Leader, Attorney, Novelist

Stacey Evans
~ State Representative, Attorney

Lieutenant Governor

Sarah Riggs Amico
~ business manager

Triana James Arnold
~ founder of the Susan Jolley Awareness Program

Secretary of State

John Barrow
~ Attorney, Ex-Congressman, Ex-Clarke County Commissioner

Dee Dawkins-Haigler
~ Ex-State Representative, Minister, Political Consultant

RJ Hadley
~ Tax Commissioner for Rockdale County, GA


Charles Bailey,
~ former Fulton County assistant district attorney

State School Superintendent

Sid Chapman
~ President of Georgia Association of Educators

Sam Mosteller
~ religious minister, community activist

Otha Thornton
~ Ex-National PTA President, Iraq War Veteran, Retired Army Officer

State Agriculture Commissioner

Fred Swann
~ Software developer, insurance claims adjuster

State Insurance Commissioner

Cindy Zeldin
~ Non-Profit Group Executive, Consumer Health Care Advocate

Janice Laws
~ Insurance broker

State Labor Commissioner

Dr. Richard Keatley,
~ Professor at Georgia State University, former U.S. Navy officer


Fred Quinn
~ Senior Financial Manager Analyst

Public Service Commission

(all districts are at-large and elected statewide)

PSC District 3 (Metro Atlanta)

Lindy Miller
~ businessowner

John Noel
~ small business owner, former State Representative for HD 44

Johnny C. White
~ IT Consultant

PSC District 5 (Western Georgia)

Dawn Randolph
~ former congressional aide, disability advocate

Doug Stoner
~ Business Owner


2nd Congressional district

Sanford Bishop (i)

3rd Congressional district

Chuck Enderlin
Marine Pilot, Commercial jet pilot

Rusty Oliver
~ Harris County High School science teacher

General Assembly

State Senate District 15

Ed Harbison (i)

Senator Ed Harbison (1993-), District 15

State Senate District 29

Ben Anderson
~ healthcare administrator, Meriwether County Democratic chair

Valerie Haskins
~ homeschool educator, retired DoDEA educator

House District 133


House District 134


House District 135

Calvin Smyre (i)

House District 136

Carolyn Hugley (i)

House District 137

Debbie Buckner (i)

Democratic Ballot Questions

  1. Should the sale and distribution of bump stocks be prohibited in the state of Georgia?
  2. Should Georgia pull down our federal tax dollars to save rural hospitals and create more than fifty thousand jobs by expanding Medicaid?
  3. Should Georgia allow voters to elect our own representatives by amending our Constitution to place the power of drawing district lines under the authority of an independent, non-partisan commission?
  4. Should Georgia alleviate traffic congestion, reduce carbon emissions, and better connect communities by investing a substantial amount of existing tax dollars in mass transit?

All four questions were overwhelmingly approved by over two-thirds of Democratic primary voters.

Past Endorsements

Past Primary Candidates