Officers and Committees

(l to r: 2nd Vice Chair Saundra Ellison, Treasurer Marjorie Jackson, 1st Vice Chair Darien Torbert (2019-2020), Chair Laura Walker, Corresponding Secretary Tammy Bailey, and Recording Secretary Pam Parker.)

MCDP Officers 2019-2021

  • Laura Walker, Chair
  • Tonza Thomas, 1st Vice Chair
  • Saundra Ellison, 2nd Vice Chair
  • Pam Parker, Recording Secretary
  • Tammy Bailey, Corresponding Secretary
  • Marjorie Jackson, Treasurer

State Committee Members 2019-2023

MCDC sends 5 members to meetings of the Democratic Party of Georgia State Committee.

  • Patricia Lassiter – State Committee Delegate (Elected)
  • David Smith – State Committee Delegate (Elected)
  • Juanita Booker – State Committee Delegate (Elected)
  • State Rep. Carolyn Hugley – State Committee Delegate (Elected)
  • Walter Nesbitt – State Committee Delegate (Elected)
  • Dominick Perkins – State Committee Delegate (Appointed)

Post Committee

The Muscogee County Democratic Post Committee is the central decision-making committee of the MCDP.

Current Membership (2019)

  • District 1: Gayle Daniels, Pat Hugley-Green, Ella Lewis (State Committee Delegate), Laura Walker (Chair), Charrise Woolridge
  • District 2: Tammy Bailey (Corresponding Secretary), Deborah Davis, Pam Parker (Recording Secretary), David Smith, Susan Stephenson
  • District 3: Vivian Bishop, Shawn Gatewood, Mattie Hall, Linda Parker, Tonza Thomas (1st Vice Chair)
  • District 4: Juanita Booker (State Committee Delegate), Aslean Florence, Patricia Lassiter, Reginald Thompson, Gloria Tyson
  • District 5: Ruth Carpenter, Adam Drucker, Deborah Lowry, Claudya Muller, Chris Parker
  • District 6: Edna Foster, Ralph Jones, Korie MacDougal, Ozia Scott, Harry Underwood
  • District 7: Mary Garcia, John Land, Murphey Pound, vacant, vacant
  • District 8: Judy Brouillette, Doug McLeod, Walter Nesbitt, Bennie Newroth, Carlo Newroth
  • At Large Districts
    • District 9: Adrian Chester, Saundra Ellison (2nd Vice Chair), Karen Huntspon, Marjorie Jackson (Treasurer), Teddy Reese, Toyia Tucker, ???
    • District 10:Val Almonord, Sandra Hunley, Ilene Kent, Tom McDaniel, Rusty Oliver, Rick Parker, Dominick Perkins (State Committee Delegate)


The duties of the Post Committee are as follows:

  • Promote development of Party organization and activities;
  • Seek and encourage qualified candidates for public office;
  • Support Democratic candidates;
  • Perform election functions as required by law;
  • Maintain appropriate records;
  • Promote and add logistical support to the State Affirmative Action program;
  • Raise funds for the above purposes;
  • Perform other such duties as may be required by the State Committee.


It is comprised of the following elected or appointed representatives:

  • Members representing each District Post, 5 or more of which are assigned to each Party Election District (each Party Election District is the same as each district of the City Council);
  • 7 or more members elected to City-wide Post positions from any district.

As of 2019, this calls for at least 54 members on the District Post Committee.

Nominate to the Post Committee

If you are a post committee member who is interested in nominating someone for joining the post committee, please download, print, sign and bring this Post Nomination Form (PDF) to the designated post committee meeting where the election is held.

Election to the Committee

To become a Post Member for the Democratic Party, you must be a registered voter who lives in the district you are trying to represent, and you must consider yourself a Democrat. It is highly preferred that Post Members vote in at least one of the previous two Democratic Primaries prior to an election or appointment. You cannot be a Post Member if you are a registered Republican.

Elections for the Post Committee occur in the following manner:

  • one half of the Post Committee representing even-numbered Post Positions are elected every Presidential Election year;
  • the other half of the Post Committee representing odd-numbered Post Positions are elected every Gubernatorial Election year.

Post Members are elected by incumbent members to four-year terms, but half of the Committee will be selected by the Executive Committee to serve two-year terms following City Council reapportionment in order to realign with the Presidential/Gubernatorial election cycle. Post Committee elections are held at a business meeting within 45 days after the General Primary.

Subcommittees/Working Groups

  • Bylaws Revision – periodically reviews MCDC Bylaws to ensure that they comply with Georgia and federal Democratic Bylaws; and responsible for periodically reviewing, at the direction of the Chair, operational policies, financial policies, fundraising policies, roles of Postholders, roles of the various other subcommittees, and community recognition activities.
  • Financial Strategic Planning – develops and reviews financial policies to safeguard MCDC financial resources and provide accountability for the management and disbursement of such resources; also recommends a Budget Plan on an annual basis. Assists in monitoring line item expenses. Responsible for strategic financial planning to ensure that MCDC has the resources necessary for specific future requirements. Works with the Fundraising subcommittee.
  • Fundraising – plans and oversees the execution of fundraising events and campaigns. Ensures a variety of fundraising activities so that no one event or campaign is responsible for all funding. Works with the Financial Strategic Planning and the Membership & Outreach subcommittees.
  • Events & Education – recommends a slate of topics on which MCDC members may need more information, plans a timeline for appropriate dissemination, and organizes a calendar of meetings, events and activities on an annual basis. Responsible for planning and executing educational events.
  • Membership & Outreach – contacts and engages Democrats and potential Democrats in various ways with the goals of encouraging membership and active participation in the MCDC and increasing positive attitudes in the community toward Muscogee County Democrats. Outreach activities can include but are not limited to implementation of a welcome program for new MCDC members, cooperation with like-minded local organizations, coordination of social media campaigns, organization of community volunteering activities, participation in local parades and festivals, design of slogans and graphics used in branding / marketing materials, or planning special events such as happy hours / socials / dinners / breakfasts to encourage relationship building. Works closely with the Communication subcommittee for publicity.
  • Communications – keeps local Democrats and the general public informed of MCDC meetings, events, and activities through various means including traditional print media, radio announcements, websites, and social media platforms. Issues press releases at the direction of the Chair. Designs and writes the monthly newsletter. Works closely with the Corresponding Secretary and the Webmaster.
  • Affirmative Action – ensures that MCDC Bylaws as well as MCDC policies, procedures and practices comply with Georgia and federal Democratic guidelines for diversity inclusiveness. Educates MCDC members on affirmative action best practices.
  • Campaign & Candidate Support – coordinates the recruitment, screening, and training support of local and regional Democratic candidates for office, serves as a liaison between MCDC and Democratic candidates’ campaigns, leads the effort to establish a local campaign headquarters, and to select, train and schedule local volunteers who staff the headquarters during each campaign season.